The Cinema Detective (2024)

Modern Silent Cinema - The Cinema Detective
release date March 25, 2024 by Bad Channels Records (BCR-007)

1. The Cinema Detective
2. Kevin Quartermain
3. Kemp R. Niver
4. Felix Mesguich
5. Walter Benjamin
6. Maxim Gorky
7. Tom Gunning
8. Jean-Luc Godard
9. Rebecca Solnit
10. Andre Bazin
11. Rudolf Arnheim
12. Robert Bresson
13. George Kaplan Suite: Mezzo Piano
14. George Kaplan Suite: Mezzo Forte
15. George Kaplan Suite: Fortissimo

Soundtrack written, performed, recorded, and mixed by Cullen Gallagher.
Mastered by Caleb Mulkerin at Tank 28. 

Released by Bad Channels Records March 2024 (BCR-000).
Copyright 2024. 

Original motion picture soundtrack for The Cinema Detective (2024), directed by Matt Barry. The film is a sequel to Forbidden Frames (2022), which was also a collaboration between Barry (director, star) and Cullen Gallagher (co-star, and composer). Forbidden Frames was a dystopic satire about a world in which cinema has been outlawed. In The Cinema Detective, film fugitive Kevin Quartermain (Barry) is hired by The State to investigate mysterious driving footage. As part of his investigation, Kevin asks the help of Dr. George Kaplan, State Film Archivist (Gallagher), who has been turned into an AI machine. Each song on the soundtrack is named after a film theorist/philosopher whose quote accompanies the music on-screen.

Now streaming:

Limited edition CD available (first pressing 50 copies)

May 5, 2024 - "George Kaplan Suite: Fortissimo"on Mixed Bag Sessions (Eternal Fusion, UK)